At an Extra Ordinary Summit held on 9 March 2001, in Windhoek, Namibia, the SADC Heads of State and Government approved a Report on the Review of Operations of SADC Institutions. Subsequently, the institutional reform established a new structure with 8 principal Institutions and Organs for executing the organisation’s mandate.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) Parliamentary Forum is a regional inter-parliamentary body composed of Members of Parliament from SADC Member State national parliaments, representing over 3,500 parliamentarians in the SADC Region.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) Committee of Ambassadors/High Commissioners was established by Council of Ministers on the 25th February 2005. In February 2012, the SADC Council of Ministers met and revised the terms of reference for the committee, which were then approved. Under the revised terms, the functions of the Committee are as follows:

The SADC National Committees have been assembled to provide inputs at national level in the formulation of regional policies and strategies, as well as coordinate and oversee the implementation of programmes at national level. The Committees are also responsible for the initiation of SADC projects and issue papers as an input into the preparation of the Regional Strategies.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) Secretariat is the principal executive institution of SADC, responsible for strategic planning, co-ordination and management of SADC programmes. It is also responsible for the implementation of decisions of SADC policy and institutions such as the Summit, the Troikas and Council of Ministers.

The Standing Committee of Senior Officials, a technical advisory committee to the Council of Ministers, meets twice a year. It consists of one Permanent/Principal Secretary, or an official of equivalent rank from each Member State, preferably from a ministry responsible for economic planning or finance.

The Sectoral and Cluster Ministerial Committees consist of ministers from each Southern African Development Community (SADC) Member State.

The Council of Ministers oversees the functioning and development of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and ensures that policies are properly implemented. The Council consists of Ministers from each Member State, usually from the Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Economic Planning, or Finance.

Establishment and jurisdiction

SADC Administrative Tribunal (SADCAT) was established by a Resolution of the SADC Summit meeting held in Gaborone, Republic of Botswana, on 18 August 2015 pursuant to Article 9(2) and 10(6) of the SADC Treaty.

The SADC Organ on Politics Defence and Security is managed on a Troika basis and is responsible for promoting peace and security in the SADC region. It is mandated to steer and provide Member states with direction regarding matters that threaten peace, security and stability in the region.

The SADC Summit is responsible for the overall policy direction and control of functions of the community, ultimately making it the policy-making institution of SADC.