SADC Secretariat

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) Secretariat is the principal executive institution of SADC, responsible for strategic planning, co-ordination and management of SADC programmes. It is also responsible for the implementation of decisions of SADC policy and institutions such as the Summit, the Troikas and Council of Ministers. It is headed by an Executive Secretary and has its headquarters in Gaborone, Botswana. The Secretariat is guided by Institutional Vision and Mission.

H.E. Mr Elias M. Magosi

Executive Secretary

H.E. Elias M. Magosi is a national of the Republic of Botswana who was sworn in on 18th August, 2021 as the Seventh SADC Executive Secretary at the 41st SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government held in Lilongwe, Republic of Malawi. He assumed his position on 1st September, 2021. 


Dr Thembinkosi Mhlongo

Deputy Executive Secretary: Regional Integration

Dr Thembinkosi Mhlongo was appointed as SADC Deputy Executive Secretary for Regional Integration (DES-RI) at the extraordinary meeting of the SADC Council of Ministers held in Malawi in October 2013.

A national of the Republic of South Africa, Dr Mhlongo has previously served the…

Joseph André Nourrice

Deputy Executive Secretary: Corporate Affairs

Ambassador Joseph André Nourrice, is a national of the Republic of Seychelles is the Deputy Executive Secretary for Corporate Affairs at the SADC Secretariat since October 2018. He was sworn in at the 38th SADC Summit in Windhoek, Namibia.

Ambassador Nourrice served as Resident High…