SADC Secretariat

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) Secretariat is the principal executive institution of SADC, responsible for strategic planning, co-ordination and management of SADC programmes. It is also responsible for the implementation of decisions of SADC policy and institutions such as the Summit, the Troikas and Council of Ministers. It is headed by an Executive Secretary and has its headquarters in Gaborone, Botswana. The Secretariat is guided by Institutional Vision and Mission. The structure of the Secretariat as approved on 28 February, 2008 in Lusaka, Zambia comprises the following:

Executive Secretary

  • Organ on Politics, Defence and Security
  • Internal Audit & Risk Management
  • Communication & Public Relations
  • Gender
  • Macro-Economic Surveillance

Deputy Executive Secretary: Regional Integration

  • Trade, Industry, Finance and Investment
  • Infrastructure and Services
  • Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • Social and Human Development and Special Programmes
  • Policy Planning and Resource Mobilisation

Deputy Executive Secretary: Corporate Affairs

  • Budget and Finance
  • Human Resources and Administration
  • Conference Services
  • Procurement
  • Legal Affairs
  • Information and Communication Technology