Capital City: Luanda

Area of Country: 1247000 km²

Currency: Angolan Kwanza (KZR) 1 Kz = 100 lwei

Website: Visit Website

Head of State: H.E President Joao Manuel Goncalves Lourenco

Independence Day: 11 Nov 1975

Official Languages: Portuguese, Umbundu, Kimbundu, Kikongo, Tchokwe, Ovambo

Natural Resources: Diamonds, Oil, Oil products, Gas, Fish, Wildlife, Agricultural Products, Sea and Marine Sources

The Republic of Angola, in the western region of Southern Africa, is the founding member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), having joined the regional bloc, formerly the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), at its formation in Lusaka, Zambia, in 1980.  Angola is the second largest country south of the Sahara after the Democratic Republic of Congo. 

Angola gained independence from Portugal in 1975. Following this, a civil war engulfed the country, with a government of national unity being installed in 1997. The oil industry is presently the backbone of the economy. Oil and fishing are the main sectors that have attracted foreign investment in recent years.

Statistical Indicators

Please refer to the latest SADC Statistics Yearbook