Capital City: Lusaka

Area of Country: 752612 km²

Currency: Zambian Kwacha (ZMK) ZK 1 = 100 ngwee

Website: Visit Website

Head of State: H.E President Hakainde Hichilema

Independence Day: 24 Oct 1964

Official Languages: English, Bemba, Nyanja, Tonga, and Lozi

Natural Resources: Minerals, Wildlife, Timber and Natural Vegetation, Water

The Republic of Zambia is founding member of the Southern African Development Community, having hosted the formation of the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), the precursor to SADC, in April 1980. SADCC transformed into SADC with the signing of the SADC Treaty in Windhoek, Namibia, in 1992. 

Zambia is an entirely landlocked country. To the north it is bordered by the Democratic Republic of Congo and the United Republic of Tanzania, to the west by Angola, to the south west by Namibia, to the east by Malawi and Mozambique, and to the south by Zimbabwe and Botswana. 

English is the official language and is widely spoken throughout the country. There are seven main vernacular languages: Nyanja, Bemba, Tonga, Lozi, Luvale, Lunda and Kaonde, with more than 70 dialects spoken across the country. In 1972, Zambia was declared a one-party State, but reverted back to multi-party democracy in December 1990 and with general elections held in October 1991. The President is the Head of State.

Statistical Indicators

Please refer to the latest SADC Statistics Yearbook