Kingdom of Lesotho

Capital City: Maseru

Area of Country: 30355 km²

Currency: Maloti (LSL) M1=100 lisente

Website: Visit Website

Head of Government: Prime Minister Hon. Ntsokoane Samuel Matekane

Head of State: His Royal Highness King Letsie III

Independence Day: 04 Oct 1966

Official Languages: SeSotho, English

Natural Resources: Diamonds, Wildlife, Mohair, Wool and Water

The Kingdom of Lesotho is a founding member of the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC) which was formed in Lusaka, Zambia, in April 1980.  SADCC transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC) in 1992.  Situated in the south-eastern region of Southern Africa, Lesotho is entirely surrounded by South Africa. 

Lesotho’s geographical formation is characterised by high mountains and deep valleys, and it is the only country in the world to have all its entire territory located at more than 1,000 metres above sea level. More than 75% of Lesotho is mountainous, with only 25% considered lowland.

Statistical Indicators

Please refer to the latest SADC Statistics Yearbook