Kingdom of Eswatini

Capital City: Lobamba (royal and legislative) Mbabane (administrative)

Area of Country: 17364 km²

Currency: Lilangeni (SZL) E1 = 100 cents

Website: Visit Website

Head of Government: Prime Minister, Right Honourable Ambrose Mandvulo Dlamini

Head of State: His Majesty, King Mswati IIǏ

Independence Day: 06 Sep 1968

Official Languages: siSwati, English

Natural Resources: Sugar, Food Products, Wood Pulp and Wildlife

The Kingdom of Eswatini is a founding member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), having been part of the regional bloc’s formation as the Southern African Development Co-ordination Conference (SADCC) in Lusaka, Zambia, in April 1980. Eswatini is the only absolute monarch in Southern Africa. It is a small, landlocked country located in Southern Africa bordered by the Republic of Mozambique to the east and the rest by the Republic of South Africa. 

The cultural heritage is deeply rooted in the Kingdom with traditions carefully protected and sustained and colourful ceremonies regularly take place to mark special occasions

Statistical Indicators

Please refer to the latest SADC Statistics Yearbook

    Mr. Phesheya D. Dube

    + 268 7606 3761
    + 268 2404-4022 + 268 2404 0651