Capital City: Moroni (Grande Comores)

Area of Country: 2238 km²

Currency: Comorian franc KMF(member of the Franc Zone)

Head of Government: H.E SOUEF Mohamed El-Amine

Head of State: H.E Azali Assoumani

Independence Day: 06 Jul 1975

Official Languages: French, Arabic

Natural Resources: Ylang Ylang, Vanille, Clous de Girofle

The Union of the Comoros was admitted into the Southern African Development Community at the 37th SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government in August 2017, then became a full member at the 38th Summit of Heads of State and Government on August 2018 in Windhoek, Namibia.

The Comoros is a volcanic archipelago, composed of four islands, located off the east coast of Africa, in the warm waters of the Mozambique Channel in the Indian Ocean. The Grand Comore (Ngazidja), the largest island in the nation-state, is surrounded by beaches and old lava from the active Mount Karthala Volcano.  Each of the islands has an economic and tourist potential characterised by the abundance of Arab and African cultures. The Comoros is a country of peace and security and whose economic wealth, based in particular on agriculture, tourism and the blue economy, remains untapped and to be discovered.

Statistical Indicators

Please refer to the latest SADC Statistics Yearbook