October 4, 2023

Official launch of the 2024 SADC Media Awards

The Secretariat of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) is pleased to announce the launch of the 2024 SADC Media Awards competition in the four categories namely; Photo, Print, Television and Radio Journalism.

The SADC Media Awards were established in 1996 to recognise best media work in disseminating information on SADC to support the process of regional cooperation and integration. The first prize winner in each of the four categories mention above receives US$2,500 and the runner-up receives US$1000. 

The SADC Media Awards are open to journalists from the SADC Member States. The winners of the 2024 SADC Media Awards will be announced during the opening ceremony of the 44th SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government to held in Republic of Zimbabwe. 

The following are the first prize winners of the 2023 SADC Media Awards in each of the four categories; Mr. Ernesto Elias Bartolomeu from the Republic of Angola -Television Journalism; Mr. Luís Maria Lourenço Mamana from the Republic of Angola-Radio Journalism; Mr. Tlhomamiso Thompson Keobaletswe from the Republic of Botswana-Photojournalism; and Mr. Venceslau Correia Mateus and Ms. Francisca Augusto from the Republic of Angola, jointly won the Print Journalism. 

The runners-up of the 2023 Media Awards were Print Journalism - Mr. Mbongeni Vulindlela Mguni from the Republic of Botswana; Radio Journalism - Mr. Lesooana Moeti from the Kingdom of Lesotho; Television Journalism- Mr. Theophilus Chuma from the Republic of Zimbabwe and Photojournalism - Ms. Lisa Kadango from the Republic of Malawi. 

The Secretariat is further advising interested journalists to obtain more information and entry forms from the SADC National Media Coordinators (SNMCs) in their Member States or SADC Website on this link (www.sadc.int). The list of SNMCs can be found on https://www.sadc.int/media-coordinators. Completed forms, with all required information typed-in must be submitted to the SNMCs within Member States by 29th February 2024.   


Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations Unit or Innocent Mbvundula, Communication and Relations Officer (External) or Mr Peter Mabaka, Assistant Public Relations Officer at the SADC Secretariat; email blopi@sadc.int or imbvundula@sadc.int or pmabaka@sadc.int or telephone +267 395 1863.