Aug 17 00:00 - Aug 18 2022 00:00

42nd SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government

Host Country: Democratic Republic of Congo

Location: Kinshasa

The 42nd Ordinary SADC Summit of Heads State and Government will be held on 17-18 August, 2022 in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo under the theme: Promoting industrialization through, agro-processing, mineral beneficiation, and regional value chains for inclusive and resilient economic growth”.

The SADC Summit is responsible for the overall policy direction and control of functions of the Community, ultimately making it the policy-making institution of SADC. The Ordinary SADC Summit is held every year and is attended by Heads of State and Government from the 16 SADC Member States namely, Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. It is also attended by heads of continental and regional bodies as observers.

The 42nd SADC Summit will be preceded by meetings of the SADC Senior Officials and Council of Ministers who prepare the agenda for the Heads of State and Government. The SADC Council of Ministers oversees the functioning and development of SADC and ensures that policies are properly implemented. The Council consists of Ministers from each Member State, usually from the Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Economic Planning, or Finance.