

PRESS RELEASE

SADC CONTINUES PHASED WITHDRAWAL OF SAMIDRC FORCES FROM GOMA AND SAKE, EASTERN DRC

12 June, 2025, Gaborone, Botswana: The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is continuing the phased withdrawal of the SADC Mission in the Democratic Republic of Congo (SAMIDRC) from the eastern regions of Goma and Sake, in line with the Communiqué issued following the Extraordinary SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government held on 13 March 2025.

As previously announced on 01 May 2025, the official withdrawal of SAMIDRC commenced on 29 April 2025. The phased withdrawal process follows the formal termination of the mission's mandate as decided by the SADC Heads of State and Government Summit. This process is being implemented in a structured and coordinated manner to ensure the safe return of mission personnel and equipment.

Withdrawal Phases

- **Phase One**: The first phase began on 29 April 2025 and focused on the equipment, and other logistical assets.
- **Phase Two**: Commencing today, 12 June 2025, the second phase entails the repatriation of mission personnel along with their personal belongings, and the remaining operational equipment.

SAMIDRC troops currently stationed in Goma and Sake will be transported by to the United Republic of Tanzania where the Tanzanian contingent will continue to Dar es Salaam, South African and Malawian contingents will be airlifted to their respective countries.

SADC remains fully committed to supporting peace, security, and political stability in the Democratic Republic of Congo and the broader SADC region. While the SAMIDRC mission is drawing to a close, SADC will continue to engage through diplomatic, political, and strategic mechanisms in collaboration with the DRC Government and regional partners.

The orderly withdrawal of SAMIDRC reflects the region's adherence to collective security principles and reinforces SADC's resolve to support peaceful conflict resolution and long-term stability in the DRC.

For general enquiries: Brigadier Molatlhegi M. Ntelamo, Head of Planning Element, SADC Secretariat email, <u>mntelamo@sadc.int</u>

Media enquiries, • Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations at the SADC Secretariat, email, blopi@sadc.int with a copy to prinfo@sadc.int

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August, 1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socioeconomic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana

12 June, 2025