

PRESS RELEASE

SADC commences withdrawal of SAMIDRC from the Eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)

01 May 2025, Gaborone, Botswana: The Southern African Development Community (SADC) has officially commenced with the withdrawal from the Eastern DRC as of 29 April 2025. The withdrawal is being conducted by road, transiting through the Republic of Rwanda to the respective Troop Contributing Countries (TCCs).

This action is in accordance with the directive of the Extraordinary Summit of SADC Heads of State and Government held on 13 March 2025, which announced the termination of the SAMIDRC mandate and endorsed the phased withdrawal of the Mission.

The decision is further supported by the outcomes of the engagement held in Goma, DRC, on 28 March 2025, between the Chiefs of Defence Force of the Troop Contributing Countries (TCCs) and the leadership of the Alliance Fleuve Congo/Movement of 23 March (AFC/M23).

SAMIDRC was deployed on 15 December 2023, with troops from the Republics of Malawi, South Africa and the United Republic of Tanzania.

SADC reaffirms its continued commitment to regional peace and security and remains engaged in supporting diplomatic and political efforts towards a sustainable resolution to the conflict in Eastern DRC.

For general enquiries:

Brigadier Molatlhegi M. Ntelamo, Head of Planning Element, SADC Secretariat email, <u>mntelamo@sadc.int</u>

Media enquiries, • Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations at the SADC Secretariat, email, <u>blopi@sadc.int</u> with a copy to <u>prinfo@sadc.int</u>

.....

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote

sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana

01 May, 2025