

PRESS RELEASE

SADC Electoral Observation Mission (SEOM) to the 2024 General Elections of the Republic of Botswana scheduled for 30th October 2024

17th October 2024, Gaborone, Botswana: In accordance with Article 3 of the *revised SADC Principles and Guidelines Governing Democratic Elections (2021)*, SADC shall observe all general elections held in its Member States. As per the standard practice of observing General Elections in all SADC Member States, the Government of the Republic of Botswana invited the SADC Electoral Observation Mission (SEOM) to observe the country's upcoming General Elections scheduled for the 30th of October 2024. These elections will determine the country's 13th Parliament as well as elect local councils nationwide. There are a total of 61 seats in the National Assembly and 609 local council seats, all to be contested using first-past-the-post voting system.

In accordance with the SADC Principles and Guidelines Governing Democratic Elections (2021), Her Excellency Dr. Samia Suluhu Hassan, President of the United Republic of Tanzania and Chairperson of the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, has appointed Honourable Mizengo Kayanza Peter Pinda, former Prime Minister of the United Republic of Tanzania as the Head of Mission (HoM) and mandated the SADC Secretariat led by His Excellency Mr. Elias Mpedi Magosi, the Executive Secretary of SADC to coordinate the SEOM, including facilitation of in-country deployment of observers.

The SEOM will be deployed to all districts, cities and towns of the Republic of Botswana to observe the country's pre-election phase, polling day and post-election processes. The Mission's objective is to assess the conduct of the elections in accordance with the Revised SADC Principles and Guidelines Governing Democratic Elections of (2021). These principles emphasise the importance of citizen participation in the democratic and development processes, the implementation of measures to prevent political violence, intimidation, and intolerance, and the promotion of equal opportunities for all political parties to access the State Media and for all citizens to access information. Furthermore, the Mission emphasises the importance of acknowledging and respecting the election outcomes by all political entities.

To promote electoral integrity, electoral justice, good governance, peace and stability in the SADC region, and to give effect to the commitment contained in the SADC Principles and Guidelines, the Launch of SEOM will include various election awareness activities for the electoral stakeholder to learn and appreciate the work of the SEOM.

The key activities for the SEOM programme of schedule comprises the following;

DATE	ACTIVITY	
22 nd OCTOBER 2024	•	LAUNCH OF SEOM (AWARENESS-RAISING ACTIVITIES) Open to the Public and Media
21 st – 31 st October 2024	•	HoM / Organ TROIKA / SEAC Consultation Meetings with Electoral Stakeholders
29 th October 2024	•	Pre-Election Peer Exchange with Heads of Electoral Observation Missions - SEOM to Host
30 th OCTOBER 2024	•	ELECTION DAY [FIELD OBSERVATIONS]
1st NOVEMBER 2024	•	RELEASE OF THE SEOM PRELIMINARY STATEMENT TO THE GENERAL ELECTIONS Open to the Public and Media
2 nd November 2024	•	Departure of Short-Term Observcers (STOs)
6 th November 2024	•	Closure of the SEOM Headquarters

For enquiries: Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email blopi@sadc.int, Mr. Letso S. Mpho, Email: Impho@sadc.int and Mr. Magabolle Mafiri, Email: mmafiri@sadc.int or email prinfo@sadc.int

.....

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana

17th October 2024