

PRESS RELEASE

SADC Electoral Observation Mission (SEOM) deployed to the 2024 Legislative Elections of the Republic of Madagascar scheduled for 29th May 2024

19th May 2024, Gaborone, Botswana: In line with Article 3 of the *revised SADC Principles* and Guidelines Governing Democratic Elections (2021), SADC shall observe all general elections held in its Member States. As per the standard practice, the Government of the Republic of Madagascar had on 17th April 2024 invited the SADC Electoral Observation Mission (SEOM) to observe the country's Legislative Elections, scheduled for the 29th of May 2024.

In accordance with the SADC Principles and Guidelines, His Excellency Hakainde Hichilema, President of the Republic of Zambia, and Chairperson of the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation appoints the Head of Mission (HoM) of the SEOM and mandates the SADC Secretariat, to coordinate the SEOM, including the facilitation of observers' in-country deployment.

The SEOM is set to be deployed to the majority of Provinces of the Republic of Madagascar to observe the pre-election phase and the polling day. The Mission's objective is to assess the conduct of the elections in accordance with the revised SADC Principles and Guidelines Governing Democratic Elections (2021). These principles emphasise, among others, the importance of citizen participation in the democratic and development processes, the implementation of measures to prevent political violence, intimidation, and intolerance, and the promotion of equal opportunities for all political parties to access the State Media and for all citizens to access information.

Furthermore, the Mission emphasises the significance of acceptance and respect for the election results by all political parties.

To uphold electoral integrity, electoral justice, good governance, peace, and stability in the SADC region, and to fulfill the commitment outlined in the SADC Principles and Guidelines, the launch of the SEOM will include various stakeholder engagements. These activities serve to educate and foster a deeper understanding among the electoral stakeholders about the work of the SEOM.

The launch of SEOM in Madagascar is scheduled for 22nd May 2024 at 1100hrs at the Novotel Hotel in Antananarivo and is open to the public and the media.

The key activities for the SEOM Madagascar programme of schedule comprises the following;

DATE	ACTIVITY	
22 nd MAY 2024	•	LAUNCH OF SEOM (AWARENESS-RAISING ACTIVITIES) (Open to the Public and Media Novotel Hotel, Antananarivo, @1100 - 1230hours)
21 st - 29 th May 2024	•	Head of Mission / Organ TROIKA / SADC Electoral Advisory Council (SEAC) Consultation Meetings with Electoral Stakeholders
28 th May 2024	•	Pre-Election Peer Exchange with other Heads of Electoral Observation Missions - SEOM to Host
29 th MAY 2024	•	ELECTION DAY (FIELD OBSERVATIONS) (Voting Day and Media Coverage)
31 st MAY 2024		RELEASE OF THE SEOM PRELIMINARY STATEMENT ON 29 TH MAY 2024 LEGISLATIVE ELECTION (Open to the Public and Media) Novotel Hotel, Antananarivo, @1100 - 1230hours)
1 st June 2024	•	Departure of Elections Observers
4 th June 2024	•	Closure of the SEOM Headquarters

For enquiries: Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email blopi@sadc.int, Mr. Letso S. Mpho, Email: Impho@sadc.int and Mr. Fabrice Tunda, Email: ftunda@sadc.int or email prinfo@sadc.int

.......

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana

19th May 2024