

PRESS RELEASE

Three SADC Mission in the Democratic Republic of Congo (SAMIDRC) soldiers killed and three injured in Eastern DRC

08th April, 2024, Gaborone, Botswana: The Southern African Development Community (SADC) Mission in the Democratic Republic of Congo (SAMIDRC) sincerely regrets to inform the public of the passing on of three soldiers and three that got injured, all from the United Republic of Tanzania. This unfortunate incident happened after a hostile mortar round had fallen near the camp they were staying. The soldiers were/are deployed under the auspices of SADC as part of a regional response to address the unstable and deteriorating security situation prevailing in the Eastern DRC.

SADC family expresses its heartfelt condolences to the beloved families and the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania on this irreplaceable loss of the deceased soldiers and the same time would like to wish the three injured soldiers' speedy recovery.

The SAMIDRC remains focus in carrying out its mandate in accordance with the principle of collective self-defence and collective action outlined in the SADC Mutual Defence Pact (2003).

For general enquiries:

Brigadier Molatlhegi M. Ntelamo, Head of Planning Element, SADC Secretariat email, mmtelamo@sadc.int phone +267 76 247 376 • Brigadier General Desmond Chawanda, Chief of Staff, SAMIDRC, email dchawanda@sadc.int phone +243 982020202.

Media	enquiries,	 Ms. 	Barbara	Lopi, F	lead of	Commu	nication	and F	ublic	Relations	at the
SADC	Secretariat,	ema	il, <u>blopi@</u>	sadc.ir	nt with a	a copy to	prinfo@	sadc	<u>int</u>		

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August, 1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations

and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana

08th April, 2024