

PRESS RELEASE

SADC Launch Approved Natural Resources and Wildlife Frameworks

13 March 2024, Gaborone, Botswana: In a groundbreaking workshop held on 13 March, 2024 in Johannesburg, South Africa, the Southern African Development Community (SADC) launched its approved Natural Resources and Wildlife Frameworks, setting the stage for collaborative implementation in the region.

The SADC Deputy Executive Secretary for Regional Integration, Ms. Angele Makombo N'tumba highlighted the significance of the frameworks aligned with the SADC vision, focusing on key pillars of the Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan. High-level policies, including protocols on Wildlife Conservation and Law Enforcement, guide strategies for regional cooperation on sustainable utilisation of natural resources and effective protection of the environment.

Emphasizing regional integration as a necessity in conservation, the Deputy Executive Secretary called for a shared commitment to addressing challenges collectively in the region. Key strategies approved in June 2023, such as the Law Enforcement and Anti-Poaching (LEAP) Strategy, Wildlife Based Economy (WBE) Strategy Framework, Transfrontier Conservation Area (TFCA) Programme, Multilateral Environmental (MEA) Guidelines, SADC CITES Engagement Strategy, provide blueprints for reducing wildlife crime, intertwining economic prosperity with preservation, and advocating for sustainable resource use.

Collaboration was stressed as paramount, urging regional, cross-border, and global partnerships. Governments, international partners, and NGOs were called upon to actively contribute to the implementation of these strategies.

Expressing gratitude for the unwavering support, the Deputy Executive Secretary concluded the workshop as a platform for concrete commitments toward a more sustainable coexistence with the natural environment. The workshop was attended by SADC Member States and different National and International Cooperative partners. The workshop was supported by the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) through GIZ.

For enquiries:

Ms. B	arbara Lopi	, Head of	Commun	ication an	d Public R	elations,	email; <u>blo</u>	pi@sadc.int
and p	<u>rinfo@sadc</u>	<u>.int</u> .						

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August, 1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat on 13th March, 2024 Gaborone, Botswana