

Press Release

SADC to hold 25th Ordinary Meeting of the Ministerial Committee of the Organ to discuss issues of peace and security in the Region.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) will hold the 25th Ordinary Meeting of the Ministerial Committee of the Organ (MCO) on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation from 17-21 July, 2023 at Mercure Hotel in Windhoek, Republic of Namibia.

The 25th Ordinary MCO meeting will be hosted and chaired by Honourable Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Relations and Cooperation of the Republic of Namibia in her capacity as the Chairperson of the MCO.

In line with Article 5 of the SADC Protocol of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, the MCO is composed of Ministers responsible for Foreign Affairs, Defence, Public Security and State Security from all SADC Member States and is mandated to coordinate the work of the SADC Organ of promoting peace and security in the Region.

The work of the Organ is premised on the understanding that peace, security and political relations are critical factors in creating a conducive environment for SADC regional cooperation and integration.

The Media is, therefore, invited to the Official Opening and Closing ceremonies of the meeting of the MCO at Mercure Hotel, Windhoek (Old Safari Court and Conference Centre) as indicated below.

- Opening Session of the MCO: Thursday, **20 July 2023** from 09H:00
- Closing Session of the MCO: Friday, **21 July 2023** from 12H45

For enquiries contact,

- Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations Unit, SADC Secretariat; email <u>blopi@sadc.int</u>, or telephone +267 3951863 or +2673641790
- Ms. Bertha Amakali, Director of Information and Research, Ministry of International Relations and Cooperation, Republic of Namibia Telephone, +264 811 287 979, e-mail: <u>bamakali@mirco.gov.na</u>

 Mr. Innocent Mbvundula, Communications and Relations Officer, SADC Secretariat; Telephone, +26772572969; email: <u>imbvundula@sadc.int</u>

.....

About SADC

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.