

## **PRESS RELEASE**

SADC to hold the Extraordinary Ministerial Committee of the Organ (MCO) on Politics Defence and Security Cooperation on 30 November 2022

**29 November 2022, Gaborone, Botswana:** The Southern African Development Community (SADC) will hold the Extraordinary Ministerial Committee (MCO) of the Organ on Politics Defence and Security Cooperation on 30 November 2022, in Windhoek, Republic of Namibia.

Honourable Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Relations and Cooperation of the Republic of Namibia, will preside over the meeting in her capacity as Chairperson of the SADC Ministerial Committee of the Organ on Politics Defence and Security Cooperation. SADC Ministers responsible for Politics Defence and Security Cooperation will also attend the meeting.

The MCO will discuss, amongst others, the political and security situation, and strengthening democratic processes and the rule of law in the SADC Region. The MCO will be preceded by the meeting of Senior Officials of the Ministerial Committee of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation on 29<sup>th</sup> November 2022. The SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security is responsible for promoting peace and security in the SADC region.

## For enquiries:

Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email; <a href="mailto:blopi@sadc.int">blopi@sadc.int</a> or email <a href="mailto:imbvundula@sadc.int">imbvundula@sadc.int</a>, <a href="mailto:lmpho@sadc.int">lmpho@sadc.int</a> or <a href="mailto:prinfo@sadc.int">prinfo@sadc.int</a>.

Ms. Bertha Amakali, Director: Public Diplomacy (Media Relations), Ministry of International Relations and Cooperation of the Republic of Namibia Email: <a href="mailto:bamakali@mirco.gov.na">bamakali@mirco.gov.na</a>; Mobile: +264-811287979.

.....

## SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socioeconomic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat 29<sup>th</sup> November, 2022 Gaborone, Botswana