

## SOUTHERN AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT COMMUNITY SECRETARIAT

Private Bag 0095 Gaborone Botswana

E-mail: registry@sadc.int Website: www.sadc.int

Telephone: Telefax:

(267) 3951863 (267) 3972848

(267) 3181070

## BEWARE OF THE SO-CALLED SADC GOVERNMENT DIRECTORY SERVICES AND GOVERNMENT HANDBOOK OF SOUTHERN AFRICA FRAUDSTERS

The above are products of the so-called "SADC Directory Services" (Pty) Ltd, Anton Lembede Street, Durban, 400, P.O Box 2675 Umhlanga Rocks 4320, Vat Number: 4830256139 and African Directory Services of Corner Kerk & Eloff Streets, Private Bag X7775 Johannesburg 2000, Vat Number: 4860239526.

Please note that they are neither SADC institutions, nor have they been commissioned by any SADC institution to do any work for them and thus have no right to use the acronym SADC or the logo of SADC.

African Directory Services had, in 2012, requested the SADC Secretariat for support to produce the Handbook and permission was granted but its output, which was annexed to the 2012 Summit Brochure contained wrong and out-dated information that strongly offended SADC Member States. It was given a chance to produce a revised version but it published worse errors, proving its incompetence beyond reasonable doubt. The support was thus withdrawn and it was informed accordingly.

However, it has reached the Secretariat's attention that African Directory Services and the so-called "SADC Directory Services continue to canvass advertisements in the name of SADC sending persons and institutions invoices with large amounts.

You are also strongly advised not to support them and that, if you come across any entity that is neither established by the SADC Treaty as a SADC institution, nor commissioned by a SADC institution such as the Secretariat to do any work for it. please double check with the Secretariat. This is to protect you from being defrauded by fraudsters misusing the name of SADC.

**ENQUIRIES: MS. LEEFA PENEHUPIFO MARTIN** 

**ISSUED: PUBLIC RELATIONS UNIT** 

MAY 26, 2015 **Member States:** 

Angola

Lesotho Madagascar Malawi Mauritius Namibia

Swaziland

Botswana Democratic Republic of Congo

Mozambique

Seychelles South Africa United Republic of Tanzania Zambia

Zimbabwe