

SOUTHERN AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT COMMUNITY SECRETARIAT

Private Bag 0095 Gaborone Botswana E-mail: registry@sadc.int Website: www.sadc.int Telephone: (267) 3951863 Telefax: (267) 3972848

(267) 3181070

REF: SADC/13/5/1/11

24 April 2014

PRESS RELEASE

SEOM ARRIVES IN PRETORIA FOR PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS 2014

Representatives to the SADC Electoral Observer Mission, SEOM, arrived in Pretoria, South Africa this week for the National and Provisional elections that will take place on 7th May 2014.

The mission is led by the Special Advisor to the Namibian Ministry of Foreign Affairs Ambassador Tuliameni Kalomoh.

The observation mission was conceived as part of SADC efforts to develop shared values and commitment to democracy, openness and transparency. Election observation serves to enhance public confidence in the electoral process. The mission will assess whether the electoral process conforms to domestic legal framework as well as international and regional principles, norms, standards and best practices.

SEOM will be officially launched on Saturday (26 April) at 11:00 at Sheraton Hotel, Pretoria, by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Lesotho, Hon. Mohlabi Kenneth Tsekoa

Hon Tsekoa who will stand in for the Chair of the Organ and the Namibian Minister of Foreign Affairs Hon. Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah who is unable to be present, due to pressing commitment at home.

More than 100 SADC Observers are expected to take part in this mission and so far observers from Angola, Mozambique, Malawi Namibia, Tanzania and Zambia have

Member States:

Angola Lesotho Malawi Namibia Swaziland

Botswana Madagascar Mauritius Seychelles United Republic of Tanzania Democratic République du Congo Mozambique South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe

arrived in Pretoria and completed a two day election observer training held on 23-24 April.

The SEOM consisting of representatives of the 14 SADC Member States, will be deployed to polling stations throughout South Africa following the launch on Saturday, 26 April 2014.

There are more than 25, 3 million registered voters, who are expected to casts their votes on Election Day. Gauteng has the highest number of voters with just over six million, followed by KwaZulu -Natal with 5, 1 million, Eastern Cape 3, 2 million and Western Cape with 2, 9 million.

END

Member States:

2

Angola Lesotho Malawi Namibia Swaziland
Botswana Madagascar Mauritius Seychelles United Republic of Tanzania
Democratic République du Congo Mozambique South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe