Private Bag 0095 Gaborone Botswana

E-mail: registry@sadc.int
Website: www.sadc.int

Telephone: (267) 3951863 Telefax: (267) 3972848

(267) 3181070

MEDIA ADVISORY

MEETING FOR MINISTERS RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUTH

The SADC Secretariat will convene a meeting of Ministers responsible for Youth from 21-24th October, 2014 under the theme: **Youth Empowerment and Participation for Sustainable Development.**

The meeting, to be attended by all SADC Ministers responsible for Youth, their Senior Officials and Youth organisations in the region will be held at Elephant Hills Hotel, Victoria Falls, Republic of Zimbabwe.

The main purpose of the meeting is to bring together Ministers responsible for youth and key stakeholders to discuss among other, the following strategic issues;

- Five Year Regional Strategy and Programme of Action for Youth Empowerment and Participation in Regional Co-operation and Integration for Sustainable Development in SADC
- Declaration on Youth Development and Empowerment
- Mainstreaming Youth Empowerment and Participation in Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Security
- The establishment of a SADC Youth Coordinating Body /Union to facilitate youth leadership and participation in SADC regional co-operation and integration efforts
- Preparation of a SADC common position to African Union and other international forums

For further enquiries:

Republic of Zimbabwe	SADC SECRETARIAT
Ms. Millicent. Dengwani	Ms Segolame Evans
Tel: +263 4 764088	Tel: + 267 3951 863
Tel: +263 716 800 157	Cell: + 267 71733068
Fax +263 4 708557	Fax: + 267 3972 848/318070
Email: ics@information.gov.zw	Email: sevans@sadc.int
commint09@gmail.com	Email: <u>36 van 3@ 3ado.int</u>

Member States:

Angola Lesotho Malawi Namibia Swaziland

Botswana Madagascar Mauritius Seychelles United Republic of Tanzania Democratic République du Congo Mozambique South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe

MEDIA ACCREDITATION REQUIREMENTS FOR COVERAGE OF THE SADC YOUTH MINISTER'S CONFERENCE, 21st - 24th OCTOBER 2014

All foreign journalists wishing to cover the SADC Youth Ministers Conference scheduled for $21^{\rm st}$ – $24^{\rm th}$ October, 2014 in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe, are welcome to do so and are advised to apply for clearance to cover the conference before they arrive in Zimbabwe. Applications to carry out media work in Zimbabwe as well as to cover the Youth Minister's conference should be formal, on letterheads and forwarded via email or by fax to:

The Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Information, Media and Broadcasting Services

1st Floor, Munhumutapa Building
Corner Samora Machel Avenue/Sam Nujoma Street

HARARE

Email: <u>ics@information.gov.zw</u> and <u>commint09@gmail.com</u>

Fax +263 4 708557

Alternatively, journalists can submit their applications through the Zimbabwe Embassy in their respective countries of permanent residence. The Ministry will respond to applications, directing successful applicants to be issued with accreditation cards by the Zimbabwe Media Commission (ZMC) before or upon arrival in Harare or Victoria Falls. Coverage of the SADC meetings and conferences will be restricted to holders of valid ZMC accreditation cards. The following reduced special fees are payable for ZMC accreditation:

Member States:

2

Angola Lesotho Malawi Namibia Swaziland
Botswana Madagascar Mauritius Seychelles United Republic of Tanzania
Democratic République du Congo Mozambique South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe

Origin/Nationality fees

Application and accreditation

\$65.00

1. SADC region

2. Rest of Africa \$80, 00

3. Rest of the world \$150, 00

Journalists are urged to apply early to avoid inconveniences.

The Ministry of Information, Media and Broadcasting Services is reachable on $+263\ 4\ 764088/\ +263\ 4\ 701437$ and the contact persons are:

- 1. Ms M. Dengwani, Information Officer, + 263 716 800 157 or
- 2. I.M. Gurira (Dr) Director: International Communication Services, +263 712 867 333

Detailed information on normal clearance and accreditation regime as well as applicable fees is readily available upon request at ics@information.gov.zw and commint09@gmail.com

Member States:

3

Angola Lesotho Malawi Namibia Swaziland
Botswana Madagascar Mauritius Seychelles United Republic of Tanzania
Democratic République du Congo Mozambique South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe