



PRESS RELEASE

34th MEETING OF SADC ENERGY MINISTERS

Sandton Convention Centre, Johannesburg, South Africa 24 July 2015

The 34th Meeting of the Ministers Responsible for Energy in the Southern African Development Community (SADC) was held on the 24th of July 2015, at the Sandton Convention Centre, in Johannesburg, South Africa. The meeting was preceded by preparatory meeting of Senior Energy Officials from 21 to 23 July 2015. The objective of the meeting was for Ministers to note progress, make decisions and give guidance on implementation of the SADC Energy Programme whose aim is to facilitate and coordinate availability of sufficient, reliable, least cost energy services in the SADC Region.

The meeting was officially opened by the Minister of Energy, South Africa, Ms Tina Joemat-Pettersson, who expressed her gratitude to the SADC Ministers responsible for Energy for attending the meeting. The meeting was chaired by the Minister of Energy and Power Development from Zimbabwe, Hon. Dr. Samuel Undenge. Hon. Kitso Mokaila, Minister of Minerals, Energy and Water Resources, and Deputy Chair of SADC Committee of Ministers responsible for Energy gave a vote of thanks on behalf of his colleagues and the delegates.

The Meeting was attended by the following Ministers and Deputy Ministers responsible for Energy:

Republic of Angola : Hon. Joao Baptista Ventura

(Secretary of State)

Republic of Botswana : Hon. Kitso Mokaila,

Democratic Republic of Congo : Hon. Maguy Rwakabuba Ribagiza (Deputy)

Kingdom of Lesotho : Hon. Selibe Mochoboroane

Republic of Malawi : Hon. Bright Msaka

Republic of Namibia : Hon. Kornelia Shilunga (Deputy)

Republic of Seychelles : Hon. Didier Dogley

Republic of South Africa : Hon. Tina Joemat-Pettersson

Hon. Thembisile Majola (Deputy)

Kingdom of Swaziland : Hon. Jabulile Mashwama Republic of Zambia : Hon. Charles Zulu (Deputy) Republic of Zimbabwe : Hon. Dr. Samuel Undenge

Apologies were received from Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique and Tanzania.

The representative of the SADC Executive Secretary, who is also the Director of Infrastructure and Services, Mr. Remigious Makumbe, in his introductory remarks paid tribute to the Ministers for their continued guidance to the implementation of energy programme. Mr Makumbe also thanked Cooperating Partners for their support to the regional energy programme. He informed the meeting that Summit approved the Revised Regional Indicative Strategy of Development Plan (RISDP) and Implementation Framework of 2015 – 2020 and the SADC Industrialisation Strategy Roadmap and Action Plan at their Extra-Ordinary meeting of April 2015; and that these strategic documents identify energy as one of the main drivers of economic growth.

The Ministers considered the power supply and demand situation in the Region and noted with concern the capacity shortfall of 8,247 MW. Ministers also noted that in 2014, the mainland Member States commissioned generation capacity amounting to 1999 MW as follows: Angola 150 MW; South Africa 1654 MW; Mozambique 150 and Zambia 245 MW from rehabilitation and new projects; about 83% of that installed capacity was generated from renewable energy based resources (solar, wind and hydropower especially through the Renewable Energy Independent Power Producer Procurement Programme [REIPPPP] in South Africa).

Ministers further noted that, the Region plans to commission 2,763 MW in 2015 mainly from Democratic Republic of Congo with 430 MW; Mozambique 205 MW; South Africa 1,828 MW; Tanzania 150 MW; Zambia 135 MW; and Zimbabwe 15MW. The Region also plans to install additional 24,062 MW of new generation capacity by 2019 in order to address generation deficit of which 70% is expected from renewable energy sources (hydro, wind and solar).

Ministers resolved to fast track implementation of priority regional transmission projects in order to connect Angola, Malawi and Mozambique. The projects include Zambia-Tanzania-Kenya (ZTK) Interconnector; Mozambique-Malawi Interconnector; Namibia-Angola Interconnector. The Ministers also noted progress on Zimbabwe-Zambia-Botswana-Namibia (ZIZABONA) Transmission Project as well as Mozambique-Zimbabwe-South Africa (MOZISA), which are meant to relieve congestion on the regional grid to facilitate electricity trade.

The Ministers commended the Democratic Republic of Congo and the Republic of South Africa for ratifying treaty on development of Grand Inga Hydropower project. RSA was advised to accelerate signing of inter Governments Memoranda of Understanding (IGMOU) for future evacuation of power from Grand Inga to RSA and neighbouring Member States.

Ministers also commended the World Bank for the financial assistance to the SAPP for purposes of setting up a Project Advisory Unit (PAU) and seed funds for project packaging in order to accelerate implementation of regional projects.

Ministers noted that twelve (12) out of the fifteen (15) SADC Member States have introduced regulatory oversight in the form of an energy or electricity regulatory agency and that the remaining Member States are at different stages of the process.

The Ministers noted that so far only Namibia and Tanzania reached cost reflective tariffs. The Ministers readjusted the timeframe of their previous decision and reaffirm

their commitment to ensure that the SADC Region reaches full cost reflective tariffs by 2019.

The Ministers noted developments at continental, regional and national level relating to the UN Sustainable Energy for All (SE4All) Initiative whose principal objective is to achieve Universal Energy Access by 2030 through: ensuring universal access to modern energy services; doubling the rate of improvement in energy efficiency; and doubling the share of renewable energy in the global energy mix. The Ministers noted the proposed Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and especially SDG 7, 9, 12 and 13 on energy access, industrialisation, sustainable usage of natural resources and combating climate change which are in line with SADC objectives and Regional development priorities.

The Ministers approved establishment of SADC Centre for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (SACREEE) and that the Republic of Namibia should host the Centre. They also commended United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (UNIDO) and Austrian Development Agency (ADA) for their generous contribution towards establishment of Centre.

The Minister responsible Energy from Malawi offered to host the 35th SADC Energy Ministers Meeting in 2016.

At closure, the Deputy Minister of Energy, South Africa, Hon. Thembisile Majola, thanked all Ministers for attending the meeting and for their valuable contribution during the deliberations.

Sandton Convention Centre Johannesburg, South Africa 24th July 2015.