SOUTHERN AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT COMMUNITY (SADC) STANDING AVIATION COMMITTEE (SAC): INFORMATION TO BE UPLOADED ONTO THE SADC WEBSITE

Reference Document A: Declaration and Treaty of the SADC, 1992 (www.sadc.int)

B: SADC Protocol on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, 2001 (www.sadc.int)

HISTORIC BACKGROUND

- 1. The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is an organisation founded and maintained by countries in Southern Africa that aims to further socio-economic, political, and security cooperation among its Member States (MSs) and foster regional integration in order to achieve peace, stability, and wealth. The sixteen (16) MSs are the Republic of Angola, the Republic of Botswana, the Union of Comoros, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Kingdom of Eswatini, the Mountain Kingdom of Lesotho, the Republic of Madagascar, the Republic of Malawi, the Republic of Mauritius, the Republic of Mozambique, the Republic of Namibia, the Republic of Seychelles, the Republic of South Africa, the United Republic of Tanzania, the Republic of Zambia, and the Republic of Zimbabwe.
- 2. The predecessor of the SADC was the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC) that was established in 1980 in Lusaka, Zambia, and in the transformation of the SADCC into the SADC, a new structure, the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation (OPDSC) was created and approved by the SADC Heads of State and Government (HoSG) Summit. During the formalisation of SADCC to SADC, it was realised that the SADC had to focus on formal involvement in security coordination, conflict mediation and even military cooperation. This gave course to the establishment of the Inter-State Defence and Security Committee (ISDSC) under the OPDSC, which in turn reports to the HoSG Summit.
- 3. The OPDSC has been created in terms of Article 9 of the SADC Treaty (Reference A), which provides that MSs shall act in accordance with the principle of "...solidarity, peace and security" (Article 4(a)), and that one of the objectives of SADC is "... to ... consolidate, defend and maintain democracy, peace, security and stability" (Article 5(1)(c)). The Protocol on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation (PPDSC, see Reference B) also provides for the OPDSC in that it guides its structure, functions, objectives, secretariat, ratification, accession, confidentiality of information, etc. Similar to the SADC, the OPDSC operates on a Troika chairing system, which provides for a Chairperson, Incoming Chairperson and Outgoing Chairperson.
- 4. The OPDSC has two sub-committees, of which the Inter-State Defence and Security Committee (ISDSC) is comprised of the Ministers of Defence, Public Security and State Security of the SADC MSs. The ISDSC has three sub-committees, of which the Defence Sub-Committee (DSC) is attended by the Chiefs of Defence Staff of the MSs.
- 5. The DSC has an Operations (Ops) Sub-Sub-Committee (SSC), who in turn has working groups and standing committees. There are eight such groups/committees under the Ops SSC, of which the Standing Aviation Committee (SAC) is one. The SAC has, therefore, been established as a sub-sub-committee to the ISDSC to recommend

actions that are reported to the DSC and then to the ISDSC, in turn, an advisory body of the SADC organ (OPDSC). The SAC is, therefore, structurally marginally within the overall SADC security architecture – it is a sub-sub-sub-committee.

MANDATE

6. The SAC is one of the standing committees of the Operations (Ops) Sub-Sub-Committee (SSC) under the Defence Sub-Committee (DSC), who in turn reports to the Inter-State Defence and Security Committee (ISDSC) under the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation (OPDSC). Article 7 of the Protocol on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation (PPDSC) determines that the ISDSC may establish such structures as it deems necessary to perform its functions. As a sub-sub-committee of the ISDSC, the mandate of the SAC is derived from that of the ISDSC. The SAC is, therefore, mandated to recommend actions that are to be reported to the DSC and then to the ISDSC.

VISION

7. The vision of the SAC is to promote peace, stability and prosperity in the SADC region through military aviation cooperation.

MISSION

8. The mission of the SAC is to enhance the military aviation capabilities of the SADC region in order to promote peace, security and prosperity of the region.

AIM AND OBJECTIVES

- 9. The aim of the SAC is to achieve an optimum degree of military aviation cooperation in the SADC region within the aims and objectives of the ISDSC.
- 10. Without detracting from the generality of the aim, the objectives of the SAC include the following in support of the ISDSC's drive to address the SADC region's shared concerns and in promoting the overall well-being of its MSs:
 - a. To serve as a platform for the exchange of insights, strategies and resources in order to strengthen the SADC region's military aviation capacities.
 - b. The development and maintenance of military aviation capability in the SADC region.
 - c. The development of military aviation capacity to meet contingencies for quick response.
 - d. In doing so, to play a pivotal role in strengthening the operations of the peace and security sector, which serves as a fundamental pillar for the SADC region stability.

STRUCTURE

- 11. <u>Structure</u>. The SAC consists of a working group of experts and the Chiefs of the Air Force, Arm or Wing (Air Chiefs) meeting, each of which are using the Troika Chairing System, which provides for a Chairperson, Incoming Chairperson and Outgoing Chairperson.
- 12. Chair. The chair shall rotate on an annual basis and in alphabetical order.
- 13. <u>Work Group</u>. Each Air Chiefs meeting shall be preceded by a work group of experts meeting, the chair of which shall be from the same MS as the SAC chair. Additional work groups may be constituted for a specific purpose as and when required.
- 14. <u>Secretariat</u>. The MS that has the chair shall be the host and shall provide the facilities and personnel required to enable the secretariat to function. Additional work groups shall be hosted and chaired according to the purpose thereof, and the host country shall provide the secretariat service.