• Home
  • News & Events
  • News
  • SADC holds Council of Ministers meeting in the Republic of Malawi
  • NEWS

    11 Mar, 2022

    SADC holds Council of Ministers meeting in the Republic of Malawi

    The Southern African Development Community (SADC) will convene Council of Ministers meeting in Lilongwe, Republic of Malawi on 18-19 March, 2022 to discuss issues aimed at promoting and deepening regional integration, cooperation and economic development.

    Honourable Nancy Tembo, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Malawi will chair the meeting in her capacity as the Chairperson of the SADC Council of Ministers. His Excellency Mr. Elias Mpedi Magosi, the Executive Secretary of SADC will also grace the occasion.

    The Council of Ministers meeting will consider the overall status of the implementation of Council and Summit Decisions; the COVID-19 Pandemic situation in the SADC region; operationalisation of the SADC Humanitarian Operations Centre (SHOC) based in Nacala, Mozambique; Food and Nutrition Security situation in the region; the status of the implementation of the SADC Industrialisation Strategy and Roadmap (2015-2063), and the Annual Performance Report of the SADC Secretariat covering the period 2021/2022, among other key regional issues.

    The meeting will be preceded by the meeting of the SADC Standing Committee of Senior Officials which deliberates and clears issues for consideration by the Council of Ministers.

    The Council of Ministers is an institution of SADC established under Article 11 of the SADC Treaty to oversee the functioning and development of SADC and ensure proper implementation of policies and programmes.

    The Official opening and closing sessions of the Council of Ministers will be broadcast live on Malawi Broadcasting Corporation (MBC) and streamed live on Facebook: http://mbc.globemw.net/ and https://web.facebook.com/sadc.int

    The live broadcast will be conducted as follows;

    • 18 March, 2022: Official Opening – 0830hours to 1000hours
    • 19 March, 2022: Closing Session – 1630hours to 1700hours

    For media enquiries, contact Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communications and Public Relations, at blopi@sadc.int or Innocent Mbvundula, the SADC Communication and Relations Officer at imbvundula@sadc.int, or Mr Letso S. Mpho, Assistant Public Relations Officer lmpho@sadc.int, copy prinfo@sadc.int  contact +267 3961863

    SADC in Brief        

    SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


    Tweet This Article!