• Home
  • News & Events
  • News
  • Official launch of the 2022 SADC Media Awards
  • NEWS

    11 Oct, 2021

    Official launch of the 2022 SADC Media Awards

    The Secretariat of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) is pleased to announce the launch of the 2022 SADC Media Awards competition in the four categories namely; Photo, Print, Television and Radio Journalism.

    The SADC Media Awards are open to journalists from the SADC Member States. The first prize winners will receive their prizes and certificates on the margins of the 42nd SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government.

    The SADC Media Awards were established in 1996 to recognise best media work in disseminating information on SADC to support the process of regional co-operation and integration in the region. The first prize winner in each category receives US$2,500 and the runner-up receives US$1000.

    The following are the first prize winners of the 2021 SADC Media Awards in each of the four categories; Ms. Jabulile Audrey Binauli from the Republic of Malawi-Television Journalism; Mr. Horácio Romão from the Republic of Mozambique-Radio Journalism; Mr. José Luís Mendonça from the Republic of Angola-Print Journalism and Mr. Gaseitsiwe Moruakgomo from the Republic of Botswana-Television Journalism.

    The runners-up of the 2021 Media Awards were; Print Journalism - Mr. Shabani Thamani from the Republic of Botswana; Radio Journalism - Ms. Auleria Gabriel from the United Republic of Tanzania; Television Journalism - Mr. Emmanuel Munyaradzi Chamalimba from the Republic of Zimbabwe and Photo Journalism - Mr. Patrick O’Leary from the Republic of South Africa.

    The Secretariat is further advising interested journalists to obtain more information and entry forms from the SADC National Media Coordinators (SNMCs) in their Member States or SADC Website on this link (www.sadc.int). The list of SNMCs can be found on https://www.sadc.int/media-centre/media-contacts/. Completed forms, with all required information typed-in must be submitted to the SNMCs within Member States by 28th February 2022.


    Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations Unit or Innocent Mbvundula, Communication and Relations Officer (External) or Peter Mabaka at the SADC Secretariat; email blopi@sadc.int or imbvundula@sadc.int or pmabaka@sadc.int on telephone +267 395 1863.

    Download all the relevant documents from the link below

    Media Release- Official launch of the 2022 SADC Media Awards ENGLISH.pdf

    Media Release- Official launch of the 2022 SADC Media Awards FRENCH.pdf

    Media Release- Official launch of the 2022 SADC Media Awards - Portuguese.pdf

    2022 Rules of Competition -ENGLSIH.pdf

    2022 Rules of Competition - FRENCH.pdf

    2022 Rules of Competition -PORTUGUESE.pdf

    Entry form-English.docx.doc

    Entry form-French.docx

    Entry form-Portuguese.docx



    Tweet This Article!