• Home
  • News & Events
  • News
  • Namibian High Commissioner to Botswana bids farewell to the SADC executive secretary
  • NEWS

    30 Nov, 2018

    Namibian High Commissioner to Botswana bids farewell to the SADC executive secretary

    The Namibian High Commissioner to the Republic of Botswana, H.E Ambassador Mbapeua Muvangua bade farewell to the Executive Secretary of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), Her Excellency, Dr. Stergomena Lawrence Tax at the SADC Secretariat Head Office in Gaborone, Botswana on the 27th November 2018. Ambassador Muvangua has completed his tour of duty following his appointment to serve in this portfolio since 2014.

    Ambassador Muvangua thanked Dr. Tax for strong bonds of friendship, and pledged to continue providing support to SADC. The Ambassador acknowledged the role played by both the political leadership and the Secretariat stating that the role of the regional body is made possible by the willingness of the SADC Member States to achieve a common goal, of attaining an inclusive regional integration agenda. He also wished SADC good progress in undertaking its various assignments aimed at improving the livelihoods of its citizens.

    Dr. Tax thanked the Ambassador for the good relationship and for having demonstrated remarkable level of cooperation during his tenure of office. She applauded the Ambassador for his experience and dynamism in articulating issues of the regional block and advancing Namibian’s agenda and interests as the Plenipotentiary to SADC. She further paid homage to the Republic of Namibia for its role as one of the founders of SADC, stating that she has full confidence in Namibia to steer the work of SADC to greater heights, as the current Chairperson of the organisation. She said Namibia has in the past hosted and spearheaded monumental achievements for SADC to ensure through common action, progress and improvement of the wellbeing of the people of Southern Africa.

    Ambassador Muvangua was the current Chair of the SADC Committee of Ambassadors and High Commissioners.

    Tweet This Article!