• Home
  • News & Events
  • News
  • COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Area Launched
  • NEWS

    15 Jun, 2015

    COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Area Launched

    The COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Area was launched in the Egyptian resort city of Sharm El Sheik by 26 Member States on Wednesday 10th June, 2015.

    The TFTA will stretch from Cape Town to Cairo, creating an integrated market with a combined population of almost 600 million people and a total Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of about US$1 trillion.

    The TFTA comprises the three largest regional economic communities (RECs) in Africa: the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the East African Community (EAC), and the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The deal will come into force once ratification is attained by two-thirds of the 26 member states.

    A post-signature implementation plan will follow the launch including, among other elements, an indicative schedule of negotiations on outstanding issues in phase I and phase II of the negotiations.

    Insert photo: Heads of State and Government or their representatives, and Heads of Regional Economic Communities at the launch.

    Tweet This Article!