• Home
  • News & Events
  • News
  • 33rd SADC Summit Communique
  • NEWS

    19 Aug, 2013

    33rd SADC Summit Communique

    The 33rd Summit of the Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) was held in Lilongwe, Republic of Malawi on 17th and 18th August 2013. The Summit elected H.E. President Joyce Banda of the Republic of Malawi and H.E Robert Gabriel Mugabe, President of the Republic of Zimbabwe as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of SADC, respectively.

    Summit also elected H.E. President Hifikepunye Pohamba of the Republic of Namibia and Right Honourable Thomas Motsoahae Thabane, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Lesotho as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, respectively.

    The Summit was attended by the following Heads of State and Government and or their representatives:

    • Angola: Rt. Honourable Manuel Vicente, Vice President
    • Botswana: H.E. President Lt. Gen. Seretse Khama Ian Khama
    • DRC: H.E. President Joseph Kabila Kabange
    • Lesotho: Rt. Hon. Thomas Motsoahae Thabane (Prime Minister)
    • Malawi: H.E. President Joyce Banda
    • Mauritius: The Rt. Honourable Dr Navinchandra Ramgoolam (Prime Minister)
    • Mozambique: H.E. President Armando Emilio Guebuza
    • Namibia: Honourable Marco Hausiku, (Deputy Prime Minister)
    • South Africa: H.E. President Jacob Gedleyihlekisa Zuma
    • Seychelles: Rt. Honourable Danny Faure (Vice President)
    • Swaziland: Rt. Honourable Dr. Sibusiso Barnabas Dlamini, (Prime Minister)
    • United Republic of Tanzania: H.E. President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete
    • Zambia: His Honour Dr. Guy Scott, (Vice President)
    • Zimbabwe: H.E. President Robert Gabriel Mugabe

     Download the official Communiqué

    Tweet This Article!