





PRESS RELEASE

TRIPARTITE SECTORAL MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE ON LEGAL AFFAIRS (TSMCLA) AND THE TRIPARTITE TECHNICAL COMMITTEE ON LEGAL AFFAIRS (TTCLA) WILL MEET TO DISCUSS DRAFT TRIPARTITE FREE TRADE AREA LEGAL INSTRUMENTS

03 October 2024, Gaborone, Botswana: The 2nd Tripartite Sectoral Ministerial Committee meeting on Legal Affairs (TSMCLA) will be held virtually on the 14th of October 2024. This meeting will be preceded by the 8th Meeting of the Tripartite Technical Committee on Legal Affairs (TTCLA) scheduled for 7 to 11 October 2024, which will be convened in a hybrid format.

For ease of coordinating the meetings, the Tripartite Task Force has agreed that the Legal Counsels from the Secretariats of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and the Eastern African Community (EAC) will be facilitating the meetings together from Lusaka, Zambia at COMESA offices.

The objective of the meetings is to undertake legal scrubbing and legal clearance of the Draft Tripartite Free Trade Area Legal Instruments prior to their recommendation to the Tripartite Council of Ministers for approval. The said Draft Tripartite Legal Instruments were adopted by the Tripartite Sectoral Ministerial Committee on Trade, Finance, Customs, Economic Matters, and Home/Internal Affairs at its meeting virtually held on 28 March 2023, which also recommended that the Draft Legal Instruments be subjected to legal scrubbing by the Tripartite Sectoral Ministerial Committee on Legal Affairs.

For enquiries:

Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email; blopi@sadc.int or Ms. Anethe Mtambanengwe, email amtambanengwe@sadc.int or email pmatto:amtambanengwe@sadc.int

.....

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socioeconomic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana

3rd October 2024