

PRESS RELEASE

SADC Refutes Allegations of Neglecting Troops in Goma, Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

20 May, 2025, Gaborone, Botswana: The Southern African Development Community (SADC) categorically refutes the allegations published by News24 on 18 May 2025, which suggest that SADC has neglected its troops deployed in Goma, Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). The report claims that transport arrangements for South African soldiers, including buses intended for their movement, failed to materialise. These allegations were not even confirmed with SADC before publication.

These claims are unfounded and misleading and do not reflect the actual situation on the ground. SADC wishes to make it unequivocally clear that all operational and logistical arrangements concerning the deployment and phased withdrawal of troops under the Southern African Development Community Mission in the DRC (SAMIDRC) are proceeding in line with the established withdrawal plan, which was jointly agreed upon by all relevant stakeholders.

The SAMIDRC Force Commander oversees and coordinates the withdrawal process to ensure it is conducted in an orderly, safe, and timely manner and full compliance with SADC protocols and international standards.

SADC remains firmly committed to promoting peace, security, and stability in the region. The Community continues to support ongoing diplomatic and political efforts aimed at achieving a sustainable resolution to the conflict in Eastern DRC.

We urge all media platforms to exercise responsibility in their reporting and to verify facts before publishing claims that may compromise the integrity of regional peace initiatives.

For general enquiries: Brigadier Molatlhegi M. Ntelamo, Head of Planning Element, SADC Secretariat email, mntelamo@sadc.int

Media enquiries, • Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations at the SADC Secretariat, email, blopi@sadc.int with a copy to prinfo@sadc.int

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August, 1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socioeconomic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana

20 May, 2025