• Home
  • Documents & Publications
  • Show
  • Documents & Publications

    SADC Treaty (1992)

    The SADC Treaty is the founding document for the establishment of the Southern African Development Community (SADC). In pursuance of the principles of Towards a Southern African Development Community, a declaration was made by the Heads of State or Government of Southern Africa, at Windhoek, Namibia, in August 1992 affirming their commitment to establish a Development Community in the region.

    The Declaration of the SADC Treaty outlines the principles, objectives and general undertakings of the Community. Membership, Institutions, Meetings, Areas of Cooperation and relations with some with other states and organisations are also covered. The treaty further touches on the resources and funds, immunities and privileges, disputes, sanctions, amendments, language, saving provisions, ratification as well as termination of the memorandum of understanding.
    Signed by: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe