• Home
  • Documents & Publications
  • Show
  • Documents & Publications


    The SADC Summit of heads of State and Government is responsible for the overall policy direction and control functions of SADC. It comprises the heads of State/Government of each Member State and is held annually on a rotational basis. The Communiques for Summit from the years 1980- 2006 are recorded in this document as follows:

    1980: Lusaka, Zambia: 1st April

    1981: Salisbury, Zimbabwe: 20th July

    1982: Gaborone, Botswana 22nd July

    1983: Maputo, Mozambique 11th July

    1984: Gaborone, Botswana 6th July

    1985: Arusha, Tanzania 9th August

    1986: Luanda, Angola 22nd August

    1987: Lusaka, Zambia 24th July

    1988: Maputo, Mozambique 15th July

    1989: Harare, Zimbabwe 25th August

    1990: Gaborone, Botswana 26th August

    1991: Arusha, Tanzania 26th August

    1992: Windhoek, Namibia 17th August

    1993: Mbabane, Swaziland 5th September

    1994: Gaborone, Botswana 29th August


    Johannesburg, South Africa 28th August

    Pretoria, South Africa 11th December (Special Summit on Nigeria)


    Gaborone, Botswana 28th June

    Maseru, Lesotho 24th August

    Luanda, Angola 2nd October (Summit of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security)

    1997: Blantyre, Malawi 8th August


    Grand Baie, Mauritius 13th -14th September

    Pretoria, South Africa 23rd August (Summit on DRC)

    1999: Maputo, Mozambique 17th -18th August


    Maputo, Mozambique 16th January (Extra-Ordinary Summit)

    Windhoek, Namibia 6th -7th August

    Lusaka, Zambia 14th -15th August (2nd Summit on DRC)


    Windhoek, Namibia 9th March (Extra- Ordinary Summit)

    Blantyre, Malawi 12th-14th August

    Harare, Zimbabwe 10th -11th September (Summit on Task Force on Developments in Zimbabwe)


    Blantyre, Malawi 14th January (Extra-Ordinary Summit)

    Luanda, Angola 2nd -3rd October


    Maseru, Lesotho: 4th July (Summit on HIV/AIDS)

    Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania 25th -26th August


    Dar-es-Salaam: 15th May (Summit on Agriculture and Food Security)

    Grand Baie, Mauritius 16th -17th August

    2005: Gaborone, Botswana 17-18 August


    Maseru, Lesotho 17-18 August

    Midrand, South Africa 23 October (Extra-Ordinary Summit)