• Home
  • About SADC
  • Development Cooperation
  • ICP Partnership Dialogue
  • ICP Partnership Dialogue

    The SADC-ICP Partnership Dialogue comprises the following structures which represent the main mechanisms of coordination at the regional level:

    The Core Group

    The Core Group is a platform for collaborative arrangement between SADC and ICPs to perform the following main functions:

    • To enhance SADC ownership and leadership of regional development;
    • Support mutual trust and respect in order to enable fruitful exchange of view and coherent development cooperation in the region; and,
    • Deliver assistance in a more transparent and sustainable way through jointly agreed institutional/management arrangements for SADC sectors and/or thematic programmes.

    The Core Group plays a crucial coordination and networking role for all key stakeholders, facilitating inter-sector and inter-institutional dialogue and cooperation, and provides strategic advice to facilitate implementation of the Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISP) and the Strategic Indicative Plan for the Organ (SIPO).

    The Core Group is chaired by one permanent representative of SADC - the Deputy Executive Secretary for Regional Integration - and co-chaired by one rotating representative of ICPs (based on ICPs’ selection process).

    The Core Group meets at least twice a year in Gaborone (Botswana), to the extent possible in April and September after meetings of the SADC Council of Ministers. However, meetings may be convened more frequently depending on need or issues to be addressed.

    Thematic Groups

    The Thematic Groups represent the technical, programmatic level of the partnership dialogue between SADC and ICPs and are intended to perform the following main functions:

    • To advocate for the mainstreaming of all programmes of assistance into the SADC priorities and in line with the SADC Resource Mobilisation Strategy, based on sector programme and resource requirements.
    • Support the development of mechanisms and strategies for reinforcing alignment to the SADC systems and programming cycle.
    • Advocate for better coordination and linkages between national and regional programmes and projects.
    • Provide a networking platform for collective information sharing and knowledge development and management.
    • Ensure that the views and analyses of sector stakeholders are adequately reflected in the proposals for improving cooperation and the SADC-ICP dialogue as a whole.

    Thematic Groups are derived from the priority areas identified by SADC, which are coordinated to match individual ICP thematic areas of interest. They evolve in a flexible manner and are an efficient platform for partnership and dialogue at the technical level, the advantage being that all parties have a clear commitment and the issues are often ones that readily lend themselves to regional action.

    Each thematic group is chaired by a SADC Secretariat Director/Head of Unit and co-chaired by representative of the Lead-ICP for the group ( equally at a senior level within his/her organisation).

    The Thematic Groups meet at least twice a year in Gaborone (Botswana). However, meetings may be convened more frequently as appropriate, depending on need or issues to be addressed.

    Lead ICPs and their Roles

    In a bid to promote harmonisation and achieve coherent and effective mobilisation and utilisation of resources, each Thematic Group has identified a lead ICP and Focal Point.

    The main role of the lead ICP is to assist SADC in facilitating coordination of the ICPs involved or interested in a specific thematic area.

    Other roles include:

    A total of eight Thematic Groups have been established since the adoption of the Windhoek Declaration, as outlined below:

    Thematic Group

    SADC Focal Point

    ICP Focal Point

    1.Water Sector

    Mr. Phera Ramoeli

    Infrastructure and Services Directorate



    Ms. Mapolao Mokoena

    Infrastructure and Services Directorate



    Mr. Freddie Motlhatlhedi

    Infrastructure and Services Directorate



    Dr. Antonica Hembe

    Social and Human Development and Special Programmes Directorate


    5.Agriculture & Food Security

    Mr. Simon Mwale

    Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources Directorate


    6.Natural Resources

    Mr. Nyambe Nyambe

    Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources Directorate


    7.Trade Facilitation

    Ms. Boitumelo Gofhamodimo

    Trade, Industry, Finance & Investment Directorate


    8.Peace and Security

    Col. Tanki Mothae

    Organ on Politics, Defence and Security




    Relevant Documents