

PRESS RELEASE

SADC TO HOLD JOINT COMMITTEE OF MINISTERS RESPONSIBLE FOR ENERGY AND WATER ON 4TH NOVEMBER 2022

31 October 2022, Gaborone, Botswana: The Southern African Development Community (SADC) will hold a Joint meeting of the SADC Committee of Ministers responsible for Energy and Water hosted by the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) on 4th November 2022 in Kinshasa, the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The meeting will evaluate regional projects in the energy and water sectors that are aligned to the SADC's objectives and targeted outputs articulated in the SADC Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP) 2020-2030 and Vision 2050.

The Ministers will also assess the status of implementation of key initiatives recommended by the SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government in August 2022 in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC).

The Ministers will, among other issues, examine the status of implementation of the decisions from their previous joint meetings, as well as deliberate on programmes and projects leading to the attainment of energy and water security for the region.

The Ministers meeting will be preceded by a Validation Workshop on SADC Regional Gas Master Plan and the meeting of Senior Officials Responsible for Energy and Water from **31 October to 3rd November 2022** who will clear documents for Ministers consideration and decision-making.

For enquiries:

Ms, Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email; <u>blopi@sadc.int</u> or Letso S. Mpho, email, <u>lmpho@sadc.int</u> or <u>prinfo@sadc.int</u>.

.....

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August, 1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socioeconomic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat 31st October, 2022 Gaborone, Botswana